Multi Hooping

10 04 2008

It occured to me while I was writing last yesterday’s tutorial, some people may not have familiarized themselves with the multi hooping portion of V.5 Bernina Embroidery Software.  This feature was one of the main selling points for me when I upgraded to V.5.  There are other very nice additions in V.5, but just this feature would have sold me.  I did software club on this subject some time ago and created a video that was a little over an hour in length.  I’ve pulled a couple of portions from that video and uploaded them to my YouTube account.  This should give enough information to get someone started with bigger embroidery designs.  This portion of the video does not talk about rotating and deleting hoops, but those are certainly options.

 

I showed some pictures in yesterday to explain how to stitch out the files after using the multi hooping feature.  I had an explaination of that in my CD also so I went ahead and uploaded that short video.

The feather shown in the first video is one I drew and digitized especially for that class and to use on a sample for Embroidery Club when we were embroidering on fleece.  This is a picture of that sample.  By the way, it would have been much easier to load the fleece on my longarm and stitch that feather than it was to digitize it and do all the hoopings.  However, it made a good educational tool.

I’m adding the embroidery design file to the Free Embroidery download box on the side bar.  It is not split, because it would need to be split for whatever size hoop you plan to use.  As usual I can make no promises for formats other than ART.

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 04 2008
Christine Olson

What a nice looking jacket! And what a “DUH!” moment for me. I love the look of quilting on fleece and I also easily chill. A light quilted fleece jacket would be easy and fun to make. Of course, it will have to wait in line with my other gazillion UFOs. :)

Thank you so much the tutorials and inspiration!

10 03 2009
Shelly Cameron

I wish I had found this earlier. I have been trying to learn how to do the multi hooping for almost 2 years now and I have not succeeded. I tried to go and download the design to be able to try and do this, but I guess it is no longer available. YOU ARE JUST TOO TALENTED.

10 03 2011
denise

Sonya,
I have used the video and succeeded in getting the large monogram design I wanted into 3 files. My question is, when I printed out the design sheets to go by, they were a little larger. I will check the printer for this. The x marks that print out, are they for centering or aligning the hoop. I am not quite sure as to how to move the hoop and relocate it in the right spot for the second and third hooping. Can you help with the fabric hooping and moving part?
Thank you
Denise

10 03 2011
Sonya

Hi Denise,

I’m not sure what to tell you on the size of the print out, probably some sort of setting for printing. I doubt it has anything to do with it, but have you calibrated your screen?

As for actually stitching out the design have you watched the second video on this post, it explains better with pictures than I can by just writing. The x marks are the registration marks and they are indeed for lining up all hoopings beyond the first one. Sadly they are not labelled in any manner (at least not in version 5, I haven’t upgraded to 6). To figure out which ones go together you have to print out each hooping and overlap them. You should be able to see Xs matching up. If you have more specific questions after watching the video let me know and I’ll try to answer them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

